?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

  • February 11th, 2009 | 10:53 PM
Contest! Win a copy of SAY THE WORD!

Edited to add a change in the rules!

Don't ya just love a contest when the prize is the brand spanking new book by one of our own?

We all know her as

onegrapeshy  that sweet-talking nurse who takes care of folks just one grape shy of a full bunch of somethings. She is also known as Jeannine Garsee, the fantabulously talented author of the YA novel Before, After, and Somebody in between and now, FINALLY, she has a new book coming out SOON!. March 17th to be exact.

 



Here's just a little bit about the book:
 

Dredging up the past can knock the present right off balance.

The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.

Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.
 

                                               ****************************************
And just to tease you a teeny, tiny, bit. Here's the very first line from the book:

"When the phone slashes a machete through my brain at six fifteen a.m. it can mean only one of two things: Dad somehow found out I was sucking face with Devon Connolly last night. Or somebody’s dead."
                                               ****************************************
You know SO want to read this book as soon as possible!

So here's the thing. The interview/contest with Jim Averbeck was such a hit that I decided to do it again.

I want to interview Jeannine but I need your help to make it a good one. When you are promoting a new book there are often a lot of opportunities for interviews but after a while there are only so many ways you can answer the question "Where did you get the idea for your book?" You begin to long for that great/unique/offbeat/ or just plain weird question that will give something different to say. Send in a question for Jeannine to answer and the very best interview question will win. Best is a relative term as judged by, well, Jeannine herself.

Let's see how creative we can get about the writer, the book new book, her creative process, whatever! I'll let Jeannine pick her favorite question and the person who submitted that question will win a copy of the SAY THE WORD.

Oh, what the heck. I love supporting my writer friends so I'm going to throw it
a second chance for you to win a free book.

Yep, that's right. A second chance to win a copy of SAY THE WORD. All you have to do is post about the contest on your blog or your Facebook page, making sure you mention the name of the book and author and then send me the link.

Edited to add a change in the rules! (It would be nice if you post the cover too but I know photos are hard for some people so you can just post about the contest and link back here for a second entry.)  I'll draw one random name from everyone who helps spread the word. Make sure to send me the link or post a comment about it to my blog because I don't always catch everything out there.

There you have it. Two chances to win. Send in your best interview question and help promote the contest.

Here are the rules. Relax, there aren't that many of them.

1. You can enter twice. Once with an interview question and once by spreading the word.
2. In the case of identical questions the one will be used by the person who submitted the question first.
3. All entries must be received by, hmmm, midnight, Saturday, February 21st.

You can send your entries to me either by PM me or susantaylorbrown AT gmail DOT com 

Put BLOG CONTEST in the subject line, please. Good luck!

(Tags: )
There are so many stories only you can tell.Tell them, please.



Comments

( 8 comments — Leave comment )
onegrapeshy
February 12th, 2009 03:39 pm (UTC)
This is so awesome! Thank you, Susan!
susanwrites
February 12th, 2009 11:10 pm (UTC)
You're very welcome! I hope we get a lot of responses. I'll post a review of the book with the interview.
jgurtler
February 12th, 2009 10:15 pm (UTC)
Contest
Jeannie's writing is SOOOOO good and she's so funny on her blog....I want to know something embarrasing that happened to her when she was a teen....or horrifying....
susanwrites
February 12th, 2009 11:10 pm (UTC)
Re: Contest
I know...she is filled with awesome!

Great question. I'll add it to the list.
kymbrunner
February 13th, 2009 12:21 am (UTC)
My question for Jeannine is...if she had to pick a mental disorder that one of her patients had, which one would she pick and why? KIDDING!

I'd like to know how many years it took her from the day she started writing her first novel to the time one was purchased. Thanks!
kporterbooks
February 16th, 2009 02:45 pm (UTC)
My question is: After reading your book's blurb, I'm drawn to the MC, because as a teen, I was the complete and utter perfectionist too. As a teen, were you a perfectionist or was life anything but perfect?
beckylevine
February 19th, 2009 12:51 am (UTC)
Hey, I FINALLY got this link up. So sorry it took me so long--but I managed to come in just under the wire!

http://beckylevine.livejournal.com/86102.html
(Deleted comment)
susanwrites
February 19th, 2009 05:41 pm (UTC)
Thanks. I just saw the FB post and I got your PM.
( 8 comments — Leave comment )
WHO AM I?



Who am I?I was born on the Cancer/Leo cusp and share a birthday with Ernest Hemingway and Robin Williams. The similarities don't stop there as I can go from depressed to ecstatic without ever passing go. I feel scared most of the time though my friends call me brave and I find it easier to believe in my friends than to believe in my own abilities to make what I want out of my life.

Who am I? A wife, a mother, a daughter, and even, gulp, a grandmother.

Who am I? A writer who never gets tired of playing with words, even when the words are hard to find. A writer of books for children and articles for grown-ups and many things in-between.

Who am I? A motivational speaker, writing instructor, workshop leader and full-time follower of dreams.

Who am I? Read and find out.






Susan Taylor Brown

Create Your Badge




Latest Month

September 2014
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

"Successful writers are not the ones who write the best sentences. They are the ones who keep writing. They are the ones who discover what is most important and strangest and most pleasurable in themselves, and keep believing in the value of their work, despite the difficulties."
--Bonnie Friedman

"As writers, we must be willing to feel our sadness, our anger, our terror, so we can reach in and find our sweet vulnerability that is just sitting there waiting for us to come back home."
--Nancy Slonim Aronie

"Writers write about what obsesses them. You draw those cards. I lost my mother when I was 14. My daughter died at the age of 6. I lost my faith as a Catholic. When I'm writing, the darkness is always there. I go where the pain is."
--Anne Rice

Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by carriep63